What will I do when I am old

This is how the conversation went between my son and I during the school run this morning.
Son: I wonder if I will still be cool when I am old.
Me: Of course. Being cool is who you are, regardless of your age.

I know, good, encouraging, affirming answer from wise mum? Right?

Son: What will you do when you are old?
Me: What? Splutter, cough, who me,……..ehm……..,.,

I didn’t know what I would do when I get old. No plan. Nothing. Kids are great for making you think.

So I thought, and then I realised I already knew what I wanted to do. It’s what I do now and what I want to do for the rest of my life. That is to be of service in any way possible. So I told my son I wanted to travel, and live with local people, learn their ways, help with practical needs, be of service. And then I thought, wow I can’t wait till I get old…….

Leave a Reply

