Life is raw material

What gets you up in the morning?

I remember thinking about this once, and coming up with different answers at different times; probably depending on what side of the bed I got up from. Sometimes just the thought of getting up and having my first coffee, preferably with single cream (yes I know….it’s one of my guilty pleasures) puts an additional spring to my step.

Other times, I may ask a more significant question like who I am going to meet that day, whose world I am going to intersect and hopefully change for the better?  Now this is not because I am so wonderful; although if you want to argue the point with me, do feel free, it’s because my main motivation in life is to help others along in their life journeys. I try to do this in whatever way I can. But that’s me.

How about you? What motivates you to get up in the morning? What energizes and excites you about what lays ahead in your day. Perhaps this is a question you haven’t asked or taken time to answer. The subject of motivation is simple, yet complex. Simple in that it explains much of what we see in human behaviour.

According to industrial psychologist Abraham Maslow, we are motivated to action by the basic needs: food, clothing, shelter, safety and security. Yet, it is complex when it poses contradictions. For instance why would a human rights activist chose to go on a starvation diet. They are motivated by a higher ideal than their need for food.

Motivation is different for everyone and so I love when Cathy Better says

“Life is raw material. We are artisans. We can sculpt our existence into something beautiful or debase it into ugliness. It’s in our hands.”

Whatever motivates you to get up in the morning, why don’t you sculpt your day into a beautiful one!

2 thoughts on “Life is raw material

  1. I’m often motivated to silence the deafening shrill coming from my alarm clock 😉 Seriously though, I find that my day starts off much better when I get up on my own terms. I love the use of the word sculpt by Cathy Better. It is such a great way to envision the imagination and personal touch on taking the raw material that the world provides to us and make it into something beautiful. Thanks for the wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

